Getting a driver's license is an exciting time for our students. We are happy to provide the classroom and driving instruction right here on our high school campuses. To be eligible, students must be:
- 14 1/2 years old
- currently attending a school in the Catawba County Schools district OR be home-schooled at a residence in the Catawba County Schools district OR attend a private school that located is in the Catawba County Schools district.
- Where and when can I take classes?
- How much does it cost?
- What does NC require to get my driver's license?
- Who may attend a Catawba County Schools Driver Education Class?
- Is the North Carolina Driver Education course required for age 18 or older persons?
- What is the length of the Driver Education Course?
- Can a CCS student attend a driver education class at another Catawba County School?
- What items are required by the NC DMV to obtain a driving permit?
- What is the process to get a driver learner permit and unrestricted driver's license?
Getting your driver's license is an exciting time and a momentous occasion in our students' lives. We are happy to provide the classroom and driving instruction right here on our high school campuses.
Registration is now open for driver education courses, available at each of our five high schools, as well as Challenger Early College. Students should sign up at the school where they choose to attend their classes. The cost is a $40 non-refundable fee.
If school is closed for inclement weather, then all driver education classes and behind the wheel sessions are cancelled. The driver education instructor will contact you to reschedule classes or behind the wheel sessions.
To be eligible students must:
- 14 1/2 years old
- Attend a school in the Catawba County Schools district OR be home-schooled at a residence in the Catawba County Schools district OR attend a private school that located is in the Catawba County Schools district.
As of January 30, 2022, the driver eligibility requirements and suspensions are reinstated in North Carolina. All school districts in the State of North Carolina shall resume normal procedures regarding driver eligibility issuance and revocation processes. Consequently, if a student does not pass 3 out of 4 classes this second semester ( Spring 2022), then they will not be eligible to obtain a permit/driver's license OR they will lose their permit/driver's license if one has already been issued.
|NC Driver's Handbook (English)||manual de manejo de carolina del norte|
|practice Test||nc dmv|